I have been preparing lunch and dinner almost daily for everyone in the house, and Wednesday evening I decided to experiment with some new recipes using our produce market finds. Since I was in charge of what everyone got to eat, I decided to cook a vegan dinner and expose my very meat-and-microwaved-vegetables eating grandmother and step-grandfather to a different type of meal.

Here are the main characters for the night:

IMG_5661
Okra (never had it before!), butternut squash, candy onions, baby red potatoes

IMG_5653
I was SUPER jazzed about these onions. I love when they get all caramelized and sweet from roasting.

IMG_5651
I found out okra is evil to work with. The outside is covered in cactus-like prickly things and there is an odd sliminess when they are cut. Oven roasting is the best way to get rid of the slime.

IMG_5669
Cooking with a tasty glass of wine is always a plus

IMG_5673
Oliver supervised πŸ™‚

IMG_5665
Roasting the potatoes and candy onions. Yummmmmmm.

IMG_5677
Roasted butternut squash with garlic, fresh sage, and pine nuts. OH MY! The best squash I’ve ever had.

IMG_5692
The seeds of the okra popped out in your mouth like little pearls of veg-friendly caviar. Fun textures going on.

IMG_5689
I almost forgot to take a picture of everything on my plate. There was only a little left at this point. A+ dinner.

