Oliver and I have been living with my parents for over a month already. In the past five weeks I have seen more friends and done more things than I have in probably the past several years. The situation I had been in previously was very isolating and lonely, and seeing so many old and new friends has been like breathing in fresh air after being stuck in a stuffy closet. One that was full of dirty stinky laundry. And everything was covered with creepy crawly bugs. And the light bulb was broken, so I didn’t actually see how bad it was in there, but I felt icky and horrible just the same.

But enough with the analogy, here is some of the refreshing fun I’ve had so far:

– I met up with my friend Heather, who I’ve known from church since I was two but hadn’t seen in months, and our mutual friend Caren, who I hadn’t seen in I don’t know how long…a decade? We all shopped in Marshall’s while toting around a combined seven children, nursed and had a mini-picnic in the toys aisle, and I finally talked with friends for the first time about what had really been going on. I received some much needed comfort, support, and encouragement from both of them. It was a bright ray of sunshine in my gloomy week.

– I met up with my friend Emma Bunny and she treated me to a drink at Starbucks and a Yann Tiersen cd (!!). Her friend (and local artist celebrity) Anna, of Rifle Paper Co, happened to walk in right after me and it was nice to finally meet her, even if it was just a quick hello. I’ve admired her work for quite awhile and instead of conveying my admiration in an articulate manner, I said the most generic thing ever: “I really love your work”. Yawn. Seriously, her work is absolutely beautiful and adorable and I can only dream to be half as successful with creating and selling my own work.

Despite living so close and wanting to visit for months, I finally made it to her shop in Winter Park just last week. I had seen her facebook update with a link to her 2012 Calenders she’s carrying now, fell in love with the 11″x14″ Botanical calender, and decided I had to have one.

The shop is bright, organized, and wonderfully decorated:

IMG_1546

IMG_1544

Oliver was impressed as well

IMG_1543

Here is the calender I chose. For now it is stored in a basket on my shelf with just half of it peaking out, but every time I walk in the room and see the cover it makes me happy πŸ™‚

– I started going back to the chapel I grew up at and I’ve also started going to a friends Friday night Bible study group again. This past Friday Oliver had a ball exploring the room and having so many new people to gaze at. He was particularly fond of Trent and at one point simply sat at his feet and stared as he taught πŸ™‚

IMG_1580

– My parents and I took Oliver for his first trip to the beach. He was an instant fan and I took many videos and pictures of him splashing and trying to swim in the waves (which will be its own blog post soon). For now, here is my favorite photo from the day; just me and my boy and his first time feeling the ocean on his feet.

IMG_1439

– After the beach we were able to stop by Tampa and have a short visit with my sister and her family. It was so cute to see Oliver hanging out with his Uncle Ray and Cousin Clay

IMG_1505


And there you have it. That’s some of what I’ve been up to these past few weeks. Many other things are occupying my time, but I’ll have to get to them later. I also need to write Oliver’s seven month update!

Ahhh, so much I want to do and so little time after feeding my Netflix addiction…

