Nothing like little Zoolander to get my Saturday morning going. It’s at the “smacking the computers like a bunch of angry monkeys” part, and right before the fashion show in front of the Malaysian Prime Minister. It’s so stupid it’s great. For some reason I still only own it on VHS. Yeah, I’m old school. (and for weeks I’ve been quoting the movie every time Oliver coughs – “I’ve got the black lung, Pop”.)

This morning I was able to sleep in until 7am. A complete wonder, and totally due to my mom taking care of Oliver as he woke up and was ready to start his day at 4:30am for the third morning in a row. It started turning into a routine already. He won’t fall asleep at until 8/9pm, then I go to bed at 10. Wake up at midnight to nurse. Wake up at 4:30am. Play with Oliver and wait bleary-eyed until 5:30 then load him in the car as I drive to pick up two coffees at McDonalds (yes, McDonalds, the devil of all fast food, but they make a decent cup of decaf). Tina Fey keeps me company as I listen to Bossypants for the 15 minute round trip and Oliver falls asleep after just a few minutes (what is it with cars lulling babies to sleep? It’s magical). I proceed to skip resting during is nap time and end up falling asleep in odd positions while playing with him on the floor, then collapse in bed at night for a few hours of sleep. It’s lovely.

Besides the lack of sleeping, life is settling bit by bit. It’s difficult going from having my own house and my own way of doing things, and then going back to livie with my parents again. All in all, it’s gone smoothly, and I really love having family around.

IMG_5203

Nothing like a little morning family time as we all cram into the bathroom to watch my dad shave.

It’s wonderful that Oliver is able to be around his grandparents, I have extra help taking care of him, and I have people to cook for now(!). I’m also grateful beyond words that I have my parents here to support me, but it’s still plain weird on some level too. I feel like I’m 18 again and I’m having to fight old habits that creep in without me even realizing – leaving laundry on the floor, dishes on the table, tissues on the couch (drives her crazy:) – all things I don’t even like to do in my own place, but that I did at home as a teenager. I’ve also gone from a three bedroom house to sharing my room with Oliver, a night table, and a bookcase.

I’m looking at it as a way to scale down, get rid of things I don’t need, and only keep things nearby that I absolutely love. That includes some vintage photos, maps, books, dvds, and my munny. I thought I’d share a few photos.

IMG_5274

The bulk of my vintage photo collection is missing right now, but I managed to find some of my favorites to display on a dedicated “pretty shelf”. I adore the little boy with his hat and his dog and my old illustrated map of New York.

IMG_5275

These ladies and their hats kill me.

IMG_5276

How dapper is the man in spectacles?? I should submit him to my daguerreotype boyfriend. And you have to love a guy in uniform.

IMG_5267

A illustrated Italian map and old school class photos.

IMG_5268

Can’t forget this suited little man and his bike.

IMG_5277

There are two class photos here. The extremely cool thing about them is they happen to have a lot of the same children in them, only they were taken several years apart. One of them has all the names written on the back. I like to go through and match up the faces and see how they changed over the years.

IMG_5272

This is probably my very favorite post card. It shows the only two species of elephants now living (the African and the Indian) and is from the Chicago Field Museum of Natural History.

I will take more photos of the whole room and do a sort of “before and after” once I get my space jazzed up a little more. I’m still working on curtains, pillows, and putting up artwork.


Highlights this week:

I finally ordered something besides Thai Basil at Thai House a few days ago. I’ve wanted to try duck my entire life, but always felt like I couldn’t. I thought it was too expensive, and I might not like it, so why risk wasting money on something I might not enjoy? Well, I realized 1) A half portion of a duck dish was $1 less than my usual meal 2) I might really love it 3) I have to start taking risks sometime in order to enjoy life. It may seem like something little, but it was an exhilarating epiphany for me.

Turns out, it was pretty good. I don’t think I’d order it again, mainly because it was fattier and less spicy than I like, but I was thrilled to have finally tried it!

– Speaking of risks, this past week I have been dreaming of traveling again. I haven’t let myself think about it in a long time, because I knew it would never happen under the circumstances, but now that I’m taking control of my own life, I’m going to do more things I’ve dreamed about doing. I can honestly say that if I didn’t have a baby to take care of right now, I would buy a ticket to New York for a few days and just wander around. I’ve wanted to go back since my trip in 2006. I wouldn’t even care that I was traveling alone this time. Though I’ll always enjoy people being with me more, solo travel doesn’t intimidate me like it used to. Perhaps once Oliver is older and doesn’t absolutely need me for survival every few hours, I’ll go ahead and buy that ticket.

– I’ve now lost 25 pounds. In just two and half months I’m already halfway to my goal weight. I’m pretty jazzed about that.


P.S. I have received several letters over the past week and each one has meant so much to me. Please be patient as it will take a little time to reply as I’m dealing with lots of life stuff, but keep the letters coming. I love them 🙂 (meganleewelch@gmail.com)

