I started yesterday in a downright crabby mood. The kitchen was stacked with dirty pans I’d put off cleaning the night before, the trash can was overflowing and the table was littered with plastic bottles because the bins were still sitting on our curb from trash pick-up two days earlier, the dirty laundry was piling up, and the floors were getting dust bunny’s the size of tumbleweeds. I also knew I needed to go to the grocery store and post office before it got too late in the day. It all seemed strangely insurmountable, and I felt like I couldn’t even get up off the couch to do anything because it was all just too much (going a few weeks on just 4-5 hours of sleep a night might have something to do with that. Oliver has been sleeping pretty well, but I stay up too late for “alone time” and then wake up at 6 or 7am).

Then, after huffing about in a cloud of moodiness for a good half an hour, I decided it was time to just GET TO WORK. Oliver took an unusually early nap for an hour, and in that time I managed to bust out the trash, recycle, laundry, vacuuming and the dishes. I immediately started feeling better after making this dent in my to-do list, and decided the day had been saved and it should only get better.

So I set out to have some fun, and good things happened.


Knowing that I was having a rough day and my mom was out of town, my sweet friend Renee stopped in too make sure I was doing ok.

When Oliver got up form his nap I shopped at two stores, found everything I needed, and was able to use a $5 off coupon!

I made it to the post office and finally got some orders mailed off to Germany and Sweden.

Stopped at the library but realized I couldn’t find my library card anywhere. I wanted to check out a few more dvd’s and when I went to the counter my card was in the lost and found!

Birthday Ideas

Back at home I grabbed some sharpies and a notebook and made a list with ideas of how to celebrate my birthday next week.


I decided a day is always better when oven fries are involved. Mmmmm.


Matthew built Oliver a fort built using nearly every blanket we own. He seemed to enjoy it 🙂


And Oliver took his first bottle of pumped breast milk! This means I’ll be able to have some “me time” and leave Oliver at home with Matthew.




He wanted to hold it by himself, but it didn’t work for long


He really liked that bottle





It was nice to look back at the end of the day and see it had turned into a great one 🙂

