When my parents went out of town for the first time without my sister and I when we were little, my mom gave us a brand new kids cookbook to help ease the pain of separation. It included a recipe called “Disgustingly Rich Brownies” and I remember thinking it was such an unusual way to describe something that was supposed to be good, and I became determined to make those brownies as soon as possible. I started thinking about the recipe constantly, talked about it to my mom on the phone everyday, and declared we make them together as soon as she and my Dad were back from their trip (side note: during that entire week we stayed at my grandmothers while they were gone, I commandeered the television and watched Fiddler On The Roof all day, every day, while eating pop tarts).

That particular recipe turned out none too memorable, and since that day, in the back of my mind I’ve been searching for the perfect brownie. I love the made-from-scratch kind (I even posted my Chocolate Chocolate Chip Brownies a few years ago), but oddly enough, there is something about a box mix that is unexplainably good. I recently discovered Betty Crocker’s Ultimate Fudge Brownie mix and it has to be one of the best chemical and preservative laden treats I’ve ever eaten.

Well, for the sake of my highly sensitive breastfed baby boy, I’m now about two weeks into eating gluten-free, egg-free, dairy-free, and nut-free and normal box mixes are off the table now (don’t get me started on the overpriced gluten free mixes populating store shelves).

I crave something chocolatey and chewy on a regular basis, so when I threw this brownie recipe together last week, I was over the moon that it turned out so much better than I could have hoped. They’re extremely rich with a deep chocolate flavor and every bit as good (if not better) than any brownie mix. Definitely a winner.


(By the way, this is my first recipe post in SIX months, making this the first food photo since moving into our new place. Lighting and set up is totally different now and I feel I’m a bit rusty, so bear with me as I get back into the groove of food photography)

Fudge Brownies (Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free)

Ingredients:
(makes one 8×8 pan)

1/3 C white rice flour (or your favorite gluten free all purpose flour. I’m a fan of Domata Living Flour. Regular all-purpose flour can also work for those who can have gluten)
1/3 C white sugar
1/3 C brown sugar
1/4 C cornstarch
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 C unsweetened applesauce
1/4 C oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
optional: 1/3 C dairy-free chocolate chips (I love Enjoy Life Foods Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips)



Preheat oven to 350 F and grease an 8×8 inch square baking dish. In a medium size bowl, mix together the rice flour, cornstarch, sugars, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt, making sure to get rid of any lumps.

Now add the applesauce, oil, and vanilla and stir until thoroughly combined. Stir in the chocolate chips then spread batter in the prepared pan. Bake for about 30 minutes or so…I like them a little under cooked and gooey šŸ™‚ Let cool before cutting.

Fudge Brownies (Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free)

P.S. I’d also like to announce that I’ve released my fifth Rock Star Scientist Poster this week! This one is for Marie Curie, a pioneer in the field of radioactivity, as well as the first person honored with two Nobel Prizes in both physics and chemistry. Four more new designs will be showing up in my Etsy Shop soon šŸ™‚

Marie Curie - Steampunk Rock Star Scientist Poster

