It’s now been a week since Oliver, Matthew and I left the hospital. I really miss it there.

When Matthew and I took a tour of the hospital’s maternity ward in my third trimester, we knew it was better than most places (and I actually started looking forward to staying 24-48 hours after birth. Yes, ME, the girl who used to think all hospitals are evil), but I had no idea how much I would relish what ended up being a five-night stay.

Besides the sometimes-horrible pain from surgery, our stay felt more like a fun retreat than anything else. There were always new nurses coming in the room to chat with and bring me juice or water or soup or just about anything (OH, I loved the ice chips!), then friends and family came by and were all super excited to see our new baby, and my favorite part of our stay: a giant tray of food was delivered to me (AND Matthew!) at 7:30am, 12:00pm, and 5:00pm. I was always ravenous and this simple little thing made me SO excited. Everyday Nutritional Services would call the room and take our orders for what we wanted to eat and I always looked forward to every tray. My favorite meal was a great chicken stir fry with fresh green beans, carrots, and squash. It was so good I ate my whole tray and Matthew’s! I really really miss that food. Every morning here at home, I look at the clock at 7:30 and wonder what is being served. It sounds pathetic, but considering a typical breakfast was pancakes, eggs, sausage, a pastry, a bagel, fruit, and hot tea, I think it’s a little more understandable.

Well, right before Oliver was discharged, I took some photos of our little cocoon of a room so we could remember all the good times we had there starting out as a family. I can’t believe it’s already/only been a week since we left…it feels like yesterday and last year all at once.



My super comfy bed and the first chair I sat in while nursing Oliver with the lactation consultant, Donna, and learning how to get him to latch properly




Food trays! And Oliver’s mini crib that I rolled around while practicing walking in the halls after surgery




Matthew’s couch that extended and became a still-too-short bed πŸ™‚




Loved the tile and lighting in the bathroom




The view from our window




Seeing this room just makes me so happy




…and bittersweet




Aw, I’ll miss you, room 4716!

P.S. And because I can’t have apost without a photo of Oliver, here is the first picture I took of my son in the hospital πŸ™‚

