Before I became pregnant, I really wasn’t interested in hearing any sort of child related conversation. Why would anyone want to talk about rash-free diaper brands, popular baby toys, and the pro’s and con’s of child rearing methods? I always thought that I would never ever turn into someone that only talked about babies and all things even slightly concerning the topic.

But that changes. Once it was ME that had a little one to talk about (even if he isn’t even born yet), everything became extremely fascinating. I enjoy learning the differences and similarities among pregnancies and have spent countless hours this week on thebump.com reading birth story after birth story (and crying at almost every single one). Of course, after reading about all the signs of going into labor, for two days I was extra paranoid about every kick and contraction and was constantly waiting for something big to happen – even though I still have two weeks to go (can you believe that? Just 15 more days!)

And there are so many topics I never realized I would need to know about, such as:

Vitamin K shots
Erythromycin eye ointment
Hepatitis B shots
Circumcision
Vaccinations
Co-sleeping
Breastfeeding

…the list could go on and on, but these seem to be the hot topics among new moms. Yes, I have some pretty clear opinions on each, and no, I haven’t decided weather they’ll be discussed here. I’m all about sharing different thoughts and views, but people seem to get so violently adamant and downright enraged when discussing these things, I just don’t know if I want to go there. Maybe later.

While hot topic discussions are a downside to me, one lovely part of being pregnant is when complete strangers give you big smiles, congratulations and compliments. This is probably the only time in my life that the lady behind the counter handing me a soft drink will wish me luck and tell me my huge belly is beautiful, so I’m soaking it up (side note: I usually do NOT drink soda but I have been having wicked cravings for it these last few weeks). One of my favorite encounters was a simple soft spoken word from an older gentleman in the produce section that shyly walked up and in a heavy French accent told me “Happy baby, happy baby!” then bashfully walked away.

And I don’t want to forget to mention the sweet people at a nearby restaurant just a few days ago. Matthew and I received a gift card for Christmas so we stepped inside, ordered take out (because I find it SO much more enjoyable eating stretched out in my own bed than crammed in a booth), and sat down to wait. There were three hostesses and a doorman that started chatting with us, asking about the pregnancy and such, and then right when we were about to leave with our food, one of the women quickly ran from the back with a little baby bib lined in blue and emblazoned with the restaurant name. It was very unexpected and completely made my night.

Speaking of baby clothes, I saw this set at Costco yesterday for just $10 and I may have to go back to get it at some point. I’ve been calling this boy my little monkey and think it would suit him πŸ™‚

Other wants on my list: happy mugs! I’m tired of drinking out of my black and white damask mugs and I want to get some colorful mugs that make me smile when I see them. So, of course, I turned to the most expensive place to look for some; Anthropologie.

So pretty!

Comedy-of-Manners Mug in Orange

Kebaya Mug in Turquoise

Sip-of-Nectar Mug in Red

To explain the title of this post: I had a slight haircut yesterday (more like a 4″ trim) and used the most delicious all-natural Honey Coconut Milk Shampoo and conditioner by 100% Pure. I still smell like butterscotch, vanilla, and roasted nuts, and because it’s all plant derived ingredients, the smell doesn’t bother me at all. And I can’t believe the difference one washing as made with my hair! While I’m not sure I’ll be able to afford buying the 8oz bottle for $16, I know will never go back to Earth Science shampoo and conditioner again. It had turned me into a dry and flaky tangled mess.

Oh, and one last note – I am currently re-working some of my older photos into a new series. I wanted something artsy but kid friendly and may end up printing these out for the nursery as well as selling prints in my shop at some point. Here’s one small peak so far πŸ™‚

And along with the animal/safari series, I may do a city series as well. Second variation with the desaturated stripe is up for debate. Input it welcome πŸ™‚

