So, after proclaiming in yesterdays blog post that the second trimester has made food oh-so-good again and rejoicing in the fact that I can eat once more, I proceeded to become sick as a dog after eating and I lost my entire lunch. Fun!

For the rest of the day I had a horrible sore throat and the only thing I wanted was coca-cola and cheesy biscuits. Don’t tell me why those popped into my head (actually, it could have something to do with finding this other recipe) but I HAD to have them.

And so I did. And they were the best I’ve ever eaten in my life. I thought I’d share the recipe so you could fall in love with them too.

(Normally I wouldn’t post a recipe with an unpretty and nearly year-old photo, but I was in no mood to take photos of my batch last night and these biscuits are so good I just have to share them NOW)



Ingredients:
(Makes 12 biscuits)

Dough:
1 3/4 C flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
4 TBS butter
1 C milk
1 C cheddar cheese, shredded

Topping:
2-3 TBS butter, melted
1 tsp garlic salt
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp dried parsley


Preheat oven to 450 F.

Mix flour, salt and baking powder together. Cut in butter until it becomes coarse crumbles, then add the milk and shredded cheese. Spoon 12 biscuits onto a cookie sheet and bake for 12 minutes (don’t let them get too brown or crunchy, they’re best when they’re soft), then remove from oven and place the biscuits on a cooling rack.

Combine the melted butter and seasonings in a small bowl and use a pastry brush to apply liberally to the top of each biscuit – and don’t be shy with that butter! It’s what makes these so amazing.

Now sit down an enjoy one warm out of the oven….then try not to them all in one sitting.

