Now that I’m getting into my second trimester, the difference in my energy and all around “good-feeling” is tremendous. For weeks and weeks I have not felt myself and have literally done nothing but lay on the sofa, grasping my stomach, moaning and complaining to Matthew that everything smells weird and will make me throw up.

Luckily, I’ve only actually thrown up twice, but the extreme nausea nearly 24/7 made me feel close to running to the nearest bucket-shaped object constantly.

But NOW, I can walk! I can go out! I can stand up for more than 5 minutes without feeling like fainting! I can even…..EAT. This is an amazing feeling. I’m hoping it stays for awhile.



A few things we’ve been up to lately:



– We’ve started swimming almost daily at our community pool. I’ve been amazed at the lack of crowds because the one time I went last year, there was a school bus of small children and I had to leave early because the pool was evacuated when a little poopie was discovered in the water by the life guards. Not the best first impression, so it took until last week to get me back there.

Well, we’ve been several more times since then, and almost every time we are some of the only people there. In fact, on Sunday, we WERE the only ones there. As we climbed into the pool we watched as one…two…three…FOUR lifeguards followed us out.

Just me and Matthew paddling around the pool with four life guards watching us like hawks. I asked the nearest girl sitting on her life gaurd chair if she was allowed to read a book or something. She very seriously said “No, I’m watching you.”

It felt just a taaaaad awkward at first, but it was mostly just hilarious.





– Every few weeks I’ve been spending a few hours watching my little cousins Sam and Gator.



Their most recent visit here involved Sam declaring we need an Indian feast for one of the next visits. He requests:

Chicken Tikka Masala (I made it once and he shared my leftovers – he simply calls it “spicy chicken”)
Indian Spiced Mustard Seed Shrimp
Naan
Mango Lassi and/or Mango Lassi Pops
(I simply want Vegetable Samosas with Tamarind Chutney. I’ve been jonesing for Samosa Chaat from Khasiyat for ages)

Considering that meal would probably exceed an entire weeks grocery budget, I may have to stagger out the dishes, but I love coming from an entire family of people that LOVE all types of food.





– Today’s Matthew-ism:

After picking up fast food yesterday…again. (I have cooked less meals these past few months than in the past 10 years)

Me: “We really need to start eating more vegetables.”

Matthew: *holds up his milkshake* “This is strawberry” *holds up his fries* “This is potato. Fruits AND vegetables!”

Me: *shakes head*

