This is the second day in a row I’m up before 7am. It’s not quite the norm for me, but the neighbors below us have started an early morning ritual of slamming doors, banging on furniture, and quite possibly, tap dancing (well no, not the last one, but it’s a funny visual).

I’ve taken to the universally accepted method of apartment messaging by getting out of bed and stomping on the floor (…that’s accepted, right?) It’s not an angry “Shut the hell up!!” sort of stomping, more of a polite three stomp message to convey “Why yes, dear people, we can actually hear you and the incredible racket you are making and we are not particularly pleased with it. Would you be so kind as to stop making such hellish noises at such a godforsaken hour? Please and thank you.”

There might be a wee bit of “Shut the hell up!” thrown into just one stomp, though…maybe.


But I don’t want to be a negative Nancy (sorry to all the Nancy’s in the world that got stuck with that catch phrase) and I’m going to start the day off with stating a few things I am truly thankful.

1. Fantastic thunderstorms yesterday, a hot shower, and a fresh pot of coffee. It really is the little things in life.

2. More of my Rock Star Scientist Posters selling.

Seriously, thank you to each and everyone of you that supports my work by purchasing prints from my shop. Every purchase, big or small, allows me to pay bills and buy groceries for more fun recipes. Thank you!

3. Already 150+ entries in the Le Creuset giveaway in under 36 hours! Don’t forget to enter!





Alright, so now that I’m in a better state of mind – on to the recipe.




Parmesan Roasted Potato Wedges



These are my new favorite thing. I mean, potatoes in general have always been my favorite comfort food, but this takes my love to whole new level. There’s just something about the crispy parmesan coating and the warm fluffy inside that makes me want to give everyone a great big hug.



</center



Ingredients:
(Serves 2-3)



3-4 medium red potatoes, cut into small wedges
3 TBS olive oil
1/3 C parmesan cheese (fresh is great, but expensive, so I use “shaker parm”)
1 1/2 tsp garlic salt
1 tsp paprika
sea salt to taste


Preheat the oven to 425 F. Wash and dry the potatoes then cut each potato in half length wise, then cut each half into 4 or 5 wedges, then cut those wedges in half. Sort of like this:







In a small bowl, combine the parmesan, garlic salt, and paprika and set aside. Next, toss the potatoes and oil together in a mixing bowl then add the bowl of cheese and seasonings and stir to coat. Dump onto a cookie sheet and arrange in a single layer.







Bake for about 25 minutes then remove from oven and turn over all the potatoes. It takes a few minutes but it is SO worth the time.

In the picture below I’ve already flipped over the potatoes on the left. See how lovely, crispy, and brown thy get? Yum!




Put them back in the oven for another 10 or 15 minutes until they’re sufficiently crispy and divine.

Now pile them on a plate, season with a little sea salt if needed, and try not to burn your tongue ๐Ÿ™‚


