Before I get to the recipe, I just wanted to update readers on a few things.

1. I’ve added some icons over on the top left so there are more ways to stay in touch with me. The icons connect to my RSS feed, Twitter, Facebook, Flickr, Tumblr, and Etsy. (Whew! Is that enough social networking for you?)

2. I’ve also added some new large buttons beneath the icons in the left hand column. There is now a button for my recipes index and it leads to a much more organized index of ALL my posted recipes and they’re divided into six categories; beverages, breakfast, dessert, main dishes, soups, and sides. There’s also a button that links to my embedded Etsy shop here on megkat.com, and finally, a button that leads to an index of photography tutorials that I’ve posted in the past (with more to come in the future!)

3. If you’ve checked out my shop (or follow me on twitter and facebook) you’ll see I have a great new deal on the Rock Star Scientist Posters – ALL 5 of the posters for only $15!

That’s right, along with offering 8×12’s, 10×15’s, and 24×36’s in the shop, I’ve started making more affordable mini posters that are 3.5″x5″ and still perfect for framing. I have listings in my shop right now that offer all five prints for only $15. Sweet deal! 🙂



As always, they can be printed in the “Steampunk” style or “Bright & Funky” style








Alright, enough news – onto the recipe!




Black Sticky Rice with Coconut Milk and Sea Salt



I based this extremely simple recipe off of one I found at Sea Salt with Food, but I changed several things. The original recipe calls for heating the milk and salt together, but instead I chilled the coconut milk, added it cold, then sprinkled sea salt on top. I really really love the contrasting temperatures, but if it’s not your thing, just follow the other version instead 🙂



</center



Ingredients:
(4-6 servings)

1 C of black glutinous/sweet rice (available at Asian grocery stores)
6 C water
1/2 C white sugar
1 C chilled coconut milk
sea salt



In a medium saucepan, bring the water and black rice to a boil then turn the heat down and simmer for 45 minutes. Stir in the sugar and simmer another 20 minutes.

Remove from heat and spoon into individual serving bowls. Pour 2-3 TBS of chilled coconut milk (I just chilled the whole can, SHAKE before opening, the use what I need) on top of the rice and sprinkle just a pinch of sea salt in each bowl.

Eat and enjoy!




