I baked a cake for Easter dinner tomorrow. For as long as I can remember, my least favorite part of baking is greasing and flouring the pans. I have no idea why, it’s not like it takes much work and it’s over in about 45 seconds. There’s just something so boring about it and your hands get greasy and I never fail to get flour all over place.

I really am a pretty messy baker. I’ve been trying to work on it but I get so excited about eating whatever it is I’m baking that I start rushing around and overcompensating for my movements. It looks like a war zone when I’m done.

At least I know I’m not alone in my kitchen messiness. I’ll never forget the day when I was about 12 or so and my older sister used a kitchen-aid mixer for the first time. Mom was sick on the couch feeling horrible and I was sitting with her in the living room watching The Godfather. Out of nowhere Jessica declared that she wanted cookies and was going to bake them (I’ve been cooking and baking since about 4 years old but at this point in time Jess had never shown an interest in the kitchen and most definitely did not cook). Mom and I gave each other “the look” but quickly went back to focusing on the movie because you DO NOT fool around while watching The Godfather.

Over the next few minutes Jessica asked where each ingredient was kept. Each time mom or I answered more perturbed than the previous time. Right as we started getting back into the film we heard Jess from the adjoining kitchen saying, “Hey! The beater won’t even reach the bottom of the bowl! What do I do?”. Slightly annoyed at another interruption, I quickly replied, “You have to use the crank on the side!”, then promptly returned to watching Michael Corleone sit down to dinner with the two crooked cops.

Before Michael could even find the gun hidden behind the toilet, Jessica once again interrupted and asked “How do I turn this mixer on??”.

That’s when she discovered the correct lever, slammed it on high speed, and shot 2 cups of flour straight in the air, her face, and the entire kitchen.

Mom and I made the human versions of this face:




And that’s the little story that always makes me feel better about being such a messy baker.


(Oh, and Jessica is an amazing baker and cook now. I’m constantly impressed by the creative food she is making for get-togethers. One of my recent favorites was her Valentine’s Day party where she had stained glass peanut butter & jelly sandwiches, chicken tartlets, espresso shortbread cookies, chocolate peanut butter hearts, and cookie pops! She blogged about it here: http://legaladdictivestimulants.blogspot.com/2010/02/early-valentine-more-photos-here.html)



P.S. The Godfather condensed into a 1 minute live action musical.







P.P.S. I almost forgot, here’s today’s photo and poem.

let yourself use something fancy today
child
wake, think, work
always question

young woman
speak, trust, explore,
be brilliant

ferocious woman
laugh, desire, devour
embrace life

