This has become my absolute favorite soup recipe. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve made it during these past few months of chilly Florida weather (yes – I know it’s as cold or colder where you are too, but this is FLORIDA. When you’re used to 90+ degree weather and it’s below 35F…it’s definitely freezing!)



One of the best things about this soup is how quick and easy it is – a constant component in my “favorite recipes” list. I also love the bit of spiciness from the red pepper flakes. Give it a try and be happy 🙂



Spicy Chicken & Rice Soup






Ingredients:
(6-8 servings)



2 TBS oil or butter
3 carrots, chopped
2 celery ribs, chopped
1 small onion, chopped
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/4 – 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
6-8 C chicken broth
1 C frozen corn
2 C shredded cooked chicken
1/3 C uncooked white rice (I use Jasmine)



1. Heat butter/oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Saute carrots, celery, onion, oregano, ginger, salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper flakes for about 5 minutes.



2. Add chicken broth, corn, rice, and chicken and simmer for 25 minutes until rice is cooked. That.Is.It.! 🙂

