Ahh, Valentine’s Day. We skipped out on the exorbitant and pressure filled gift giving and simply enjoyed spending the entire day together.

The morning started with a short trip to check out the Folk Art Festival and finally meet Dawn Schreiner in person (blogged about her here http://megkat.com/2009/10/doodles-by-dawn-schreiner.html and here http://megkat.com/2010/01/i-love-a-happy-surprise.html).

So friendly and sweet, and my short conversation with her husband about my past work with photography and paintings reminded me that I need to motivate my self and just GET TO WORK making new art!



Her booth at the Folk Art Festival



The lovely artist



The portrait she made of me that I got to see in person. I still love it 🙂












Cute and happy birdie paintings








Check out her scooter!!




(I love seeing different styles of similar picutures. This was my take on the same Audrey Hepburn pose for a 24×36 acrylic painting back in 2005)




The highlight of the day came when we were able to use a $50 Carrabba’s gift card from Matthew’s Dad to get quite a take out feast (there was no way we were going to try and eat in a restaurant on V-Day). One of our appetizers was the “Scotty Thompson”, a Caprino cheese baked in pomodoro sauce, served with crisp garlic toast. Only no matter how many times I said it, Matthew could not remember “pomodoro”, so it will forever now be known as “Pandora sauce”. A favorite of the Na’vi!

The rest of the evening was taken up with Matthew playing video games while I lay next to him reading up on 19th century physicists, quantum mechanics, and working on more pieces for my series of poster prints as a follow up to the Tesla Poster.

May sound mellow (and it was) but it was one of the best days we’ve had in a long while 🙂






P.S. On the way home from church we passed by this house that had a rental sign out front (I wrote down the number but I know it will be so much more than we could afford). I fell in love with the red door and amazing porch. Oh, I wish…

