Basic ingredients, quick preparation, simple flavors, and especially good with a hot cup of tea.


Canon 350D, Canon 50mm ƒ/1.8 lens, 1/60th sec at ƒ/2.8, ISO 400



Ingredients:
(makes 12 muffins)

2 C all-purpose flour
3/4 C brown sugar
3 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1 egg
1 C milk
1/3 C vegetable oil
2 large apples (or 3 small) peeled, cored and finely diced

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400F and grease two muffins tins.

Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, salt, and nutmeg together in a small bowl. In a separate larger bowl, mix together the egg, milk, and oil.

Add 1/3 of the dry ingredients into the wet and stir until combined. Add another 1/3 of the dry and stir; repeat. Use a spatula to fold in the apple pieces.

Fill muffins cups 2/3 full and sprinkle a little white sugar on the top of each. Bake for about 20 minutes.






Canon 350D, Canon 50mm ƒ/1.8 lens, 1/40th sec at ƒ/2.8, ISO 400


I’m actually really surprised with how decently these photos turned out. I actually spent the afternoon quite frustrated and thinking that I had wasted my time taking mediocre shots and would have to post some fairly unlovely pictures today.

From the time I started shooting the apples, to baking the muffins, then finally the after-baking shots, I was continually grumpy and frustrated with the process.

I was frustrated that:
the day was overcast and there was poor light.
I don’t have proper lighting.
the studio is over crowded.
I was interrupted several times.
I don’t have faster lenses.
it took me a few weeks to realize my diatropic adjustment was off.
I didn’t fix the above until after all the photos were taken.

Overall, a foul mood and a LOT of dissatisfaction.

Then I realized; it’s not a big deal. There are much larger and more important things happening in the world, I have a lot to work with and a lot to be thankful for, and it’s just not THAT bad!

And so I told myself; Don’t get dissatisfied with limitations – get creative.

So I took my time, moved things around, used the dim window light I had, fiddled with camera settings, and everything turned out OK after all.

Just another reminder to myself that attitude really is everything.




Canon 350D, Canon 50mm ƒ/1.8 lens, 1/125th sec at ƒ/2.2, ISO 100




Canon 350D, Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III lens, 180mm, 1/60th sec at ƒ/5.0, ISO 200




Canon 350D, Canon 50mm ƒ/1.8 lens, 1/160th sec at ƒ/1.8, ISO 100

