You really never know when inspiration will hit for a project.

For recipes, my most likely moment of enlightenment is right when I’m about to fall asleep. Those few moments before my brain finally dims into blackness, I’m usually day dreaming about the wonderful foods I’ll have for breakfast in the morning. That leads to ideas for lunch, and then of course I have to figure out something grand and exciting for dinner.

With photography, inspiration is almost always spur of the moment. It can be the way the light hits someones face while we’re talking, a dark alleyway I walk by, and of course, my dreams.

(I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve had the most amazing photo shoots produced by my subconscious at night. One memorable faux-experience was on the deck of an old cruise ship with petticoats, bonnets, and steam trunks. Another was of the most mind blowing sunset in a red sand desert. I always wake up from those dream so disappointed)

Painting inspiration comes from everything. Any shapes, any colors, any time.

My most recent painting idea came from looking through old Bon Appetit magazine’s that I had dug out of the “free box” at my parents garage sale.

Flipping through the pages of the April 2008 issue, I came across page 58 and found a list of “What to buy now”, with nine different items displayed on a plain white page (great photos by Jeffrey Schad, by the way).

I thought what I saw was a colander and bars of soap (thus why I titled the subsequent painting “Wash & Dry”) but what really caught my eye was a lime green Silcone Steamer by Chef’n and a stack of beautifully displayed Pates de Fruits by Pistacia Vera. The colors spoke to me (as cheesy as that may sound) and I knew what I wanted to paint.

This. A 10×10 acrylic painting that makes me happy every time I look at it hanging on my wall.

'Wash & Dry'

So, keep your eyes open for inspiration wherever you can get it. You never know what you may discover.

