I know I said I’d be posting about how to turn this cake into simple petits fours, but I completely and totally FAILED with the glaze today because I tried making it without corn syrup (does. not. work).

But I’ll be making a “Part 2” to this post soon, with more photos and a proper glaze.

For now, just have some yummy pound cake.

Ingredients:
(makes 1 loaf)

1 1/3 C white sugar
1 C butter (2 sticks), room temperature
3 eggs
1/4 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp almond extract
2 C cake flour (or replace with 3/4 C all-purpose flour and 1/4 C cornstarch)

My beautiful new (“refurbished”) 5 QT Artisan KitchenAid mixer before it’s Pound Cake christening

Step 1: Preheat oven to 325 F and separate the eggs – place the whites in the Kitchen Aid bowl and set aside the yolks in a small bowl.

Step 2: Whisk those suckers to a stiff peak and set aside in a small bowl.

whipping those egg whites like nobodies business! No more hand whisking for this girl, uh-uh!

I really went to town on these whites. They were past the point of “stiff peaks” but I kept and used them anyway (don’t do that – restart with new whites or the cake won’t rise like it should)

Step 3: Cream together the butter and sugar then beat in the egg yolks.

Step 4: Mix in milk and extracts then add flour 1 C at a time.

the batter before folding in the egg whites

Step 5: Fold in the eggs whites.

Step 6: Spread evenly into a well greased 9x5x3 loaf pan.

Step 7: Bake for 50-60 minutes then move to a cooling rack for 10 minutes before removing from pan.

Step 8: Allow to cool completely before slicing and/or pouring on a glaze

