Porcupine Balls

One of the first meals I have sentimental ties with is porcupine balls with mashed potatoes and corn.

Despite the scary name, these basic meatballs with rice and tomato sauce carry a lot of family memories since we’ve been eating this at big family get-togethers for as long as I can remember.

The recipe has been passed down from my grandmother, to my mom, and then to me and my sister. It’s basic, so feel free to play around with additional spices, but sometimes it’s nice to eat something simple and straightforward.

And it’s always a good dish to make on a cool night when you want something warm and comforting to fill your belly 🙂

Ingredients:
(Serves 4-6)

1 lb ground beef
1 egg
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1 handful white rice
1 TBS ketchup
1 8oz can tomato sauce

Mix together the beef, egg, pepper, rice, and ketchup and roll into 2″ balls.

Place into a medium saucepan and our in the tomato sauce, then add water just enough to almost cover the meatballs.

Simmer for about 20-25 minutes until cooked through. Serve with homemade mashed potatoes and cooked corn.

Oh, and speaking of comfort foods, I don’t know if anything could ever replace the basic peanut butter and jelly sandwich with a glass of milk.

I grew up using grape jelly, but I’ve recently become a HUGE fan of black cherry All Fruit. I always prefer making two halves instead of one whole pb&j, though.

Something about that fold of soft bread with absolutely no crust is magical.

