I realized this morning that last year when I got married I didn’t have many of the readers that I have now. Because of this, I wanted to share my wedding cake photos again, along with the recipe!

Matthew and I chose to have a very small wedding (only immediate family which equaled about 30 people) in my parents backyard, and my mother – an awesome baker and cook – offered to make my wedding cake.

I love love LOVE anything almond, so we went with an almond cake with raspberry filling and almond buttercream.

I also have a fervent love of buttons that causes me to collect hundred and hundreds of them then place them on aprons, bracelets, collages, and just about anything in sight. I decided I wanted to find a way to incorporate this obsession into our cake.

My preliminary sketch (which you can see by the date was only three days before the actual wedding. We were sorta…laid back about the whole thing. We bought his suit the day before the wedding, too):

My extremely patient mother then went out and actually found some candy molds at D&G and spent several days making these glorious gems out of white chocolate and candy coloring found at Michael’s Craft Store:

(Super quick instructions: Melt chocolate in a double-boiler. Add a few drops of the desired coloring and mix. Pour into molds and allow to set before removing. Repeat for each color.)

Almond Cake with Raspberry Filling
(make ones 11×13 cake – double recipe to make four tiers)

1 (18.25 ounce) package white cake mix
1 C all-purpose flour
1 C white sugar
3/4 tsp salt
1 1/3 C water
1 C sour cream
2 TBS vegetable oil
1 tsp almond extract
1 tsp vanilla extract
4 egg whites
1 jar raspberry jam

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F and grease and flour an 11×13 inch cake pan.

Mix together the cake mix, flour, sugar, and salt in a large bowl then pour in the water, sour cream, vegetable oil, almond and vanilla extracts and stir. Add the egg whites and beat with an electric mix on low for 3-4 minutes until the ingredients are mixed but a few lumps remain.

Pour into the greased and floured cake pan and bake in the preheated oven for about 25 minutes until the top of the cake is a light golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Allow to cool before frosting.

Almond Buttercream Frosting

2 C confectioners’ sugar
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
1 egg white
1/2 TBS water
3 TBS butter, softened

Combine all ingredients in bowl and beat at low speed to mix. Beat at high speed 5-10 minutes until smooth and fluffy (beat in a few drops of water if too stiff).

Once the cake is cooled, split into two layers with a sharp knife. Spread a thin layer of frosting on the top of the bottom half then spread on a layer of raspberry jam. Replace the top layer and cover entire cake with buttercream.

Now decorate as you see fit!

Me and my sweetie 🙂

