Matthew had to call in sick to work today and my mom is feel under the weather as well, so I packed up a few groceries and we headed to my parents house where there is space, cleanliness, company, and internet.

Everyone was getting hungry and soup is always my first choice when feeling bad. There’s something about warm broth and simple ingredients that seems to heal the body and soul. I found the base to this recipe on allrecipes.com and then, as I always do, I tinkered it to my hearts content.

I must say, it turned out pretty fabulous.

Soup for the sickies in the house

Ingredients:
(6-8 servings)

1 10 oz can Rotel diced tomatoes with green chile peppers
1 15 oz can black beans, rinsed and drained
2 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded – or 1 (12.5 oz) can chunk chicken breast, rinsed and drained
1 32 oz container of Pacific organic free range chicken broth (or 4 C broth of your choice)
2 ears fresh corn, kernels cut off (you can substitute frozen or canned, but the fresh REALLY makes this yummy)
2 tsp cumin
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp dried oregano
fresh cracked black pepper and salt to taste
1/2 C fresh cilantro, chopped

Combine everything but cilantro in a large pot and bring to a simmer. Leave on heat for about 5 minutes then add cilantro. Stir and serve 🙂

