Now that the recipe contest has wrapped up, I’m moving on to other projects.

Along with the 36×48 Harry Potter painting, working on photo tutorials, preparing giveaways, and packing everything up to move, I had a fun idea for….a cookbook!

I know a cookbook is nothing new or ground breaking, but I’ve wanted to put one together for awhile and just couldn’t ever think of the right theme to move forward. Well, it finally popped into my head the other day and I should have thought of it sooner for how obvious is seems now.

Just about everyone in my family cooks, and cooks well. Everything we do together is based around food. We love food. It makes us happy.

The idea I have is to put together a combination photo/cookbook. Go to the houses of my sister, brother, grandmother, etc, have them cook the three recipes their known for, and photograph them as we cook and eat together.

Of course I’ll have to convince them to participate, and I’m not sure if anyone besides family would be interest in it, but I think it could be pretty awesome, and we’d have all our family recipes in one book. Swell, yes?

Oh, and speaking of food and family, I drove over to my parents again today to mooch their internet and photoshop soak up their lovely company, and my mom made this delicious salad for lunch.

Yes, two recipes in one day. Enjoy!

Goat cheese & red pepper salad

Goat cheese & red pepper salad

Ingredients:
(per serving)

2 C salad greens
1/2 C roasted red bell pepper, diced
1/2 C cucumber, diced
1/4 C walnuts, broken into pieces
1 oz goat cheese, crumbled
4 kalamata olives, quartered (leave out if you think olives are vile and disgusting)
balsamic vinaigrette

Toss together and serve.

