Yesterday, before my cousins left from their first sleepover at our apartment, I wanted to make something a little special for breakfast.

I settled on:

Baked Donut Nuggets

(Pardon the fact that I’m simply holding the tray in midair and did not stage a pretty photo. I had two little boys running around, one of which saying “Why you take so many pictures? Can you just stop now?”.)

I always loved making these when I was little and I still remember waking up early when I was nearly 11 so that I could bake these for my sisters birthday breakfast in bed (I was very proud of myself for using the mini muffins to spell out “13” on her plate).

Despite their name, they don’t really taste like a donut, but they don’t really taste little a muffin either. They’re sort of a nice combination of texture and taste between both.

Ingredients
(makes about 24-30 mini muffins)

1/2 C butter, softened
1/3 C sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg
1 1/2 C flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt
2/3 milk

Topping:
1/4 C powdered sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Beat sugar, butter, vanilla, and egg in one bowl and mix the dry ingredients separately in another. Add half the flour mixture to the butter mixture and stir, then add half the milk and stir again. Repeat process the with remaining flour mixture and milk.

Grease mini muffin pans and fill to 2/3 full. Bake in a preheated oven at 350 F for about 20 minutes.

Immediately remove the muffins from the tins and place 10 at a time into a ziploc bag with powdered sugar and cinnamon. Seal bag, then shake gently to coat.

Note: Do NOT substitute oil for butter, brown sugar for white, or cardamom for nutmeg. It may sound good, but it just doesn’t work, and picky little boys will not eat them.

