Another easy summer side dish!

Last week I was looking online and I came across this recipe at Ciao Chow Linda. As soon as I saw the photo my mouth started watering and I knew I had to try this, despite never having liked potato salad in my life.

I think what’s turned me off in the past is the mayonnaise version of potato salad that is prominent in the south. I have never once in my life cooked with mayonnaise, I never buy it, I never look at it, I wouldn’t touch it with a ten foot pole (ironically enough, I will eat it if someone else has prepared a dish with it, but I ignore this fact and continue to be adamant about my hate).

This version with olive oil and red wine vinegar is so much more appealing and light. Definitely a keeper.

6 red potatoes, boiled until fork tender, cooled, and cubed
(I didn’t have red so I used white potatoes)

1/4 cup olive oil
1/8 cup red wine vinegar
salt, freshly ground black pepper to taste
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 cup red onion, minced
1 tsp. Dijon mustard
handful of minced parsley

Blend all of the above together with a fork or a whisk and mix into the potatoes. Fold in the parsley and chill before serving.

