I was wanting some homey comfort food for Shirlee and myself yesterday and finally settled on some chicken tenders. I wasn’t keen on the idea of using a bunch of my brand new bottle of oil just to fry up a few pieces of chicken (it’s sounded dirty and fatty as well) so I settled on baking them.

I sort of just threw in spices as I went so I’ll write them down as best I remember. Definitely a winner though 🙂

4 chicken breasts cut into tenders (or just buy some tenders…that works too 🙂
1 egg
3 TBS milk
3/4 C panko bread crumbs
1 tsp salt
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp thyme
1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp pepper
3 TBS butter, melted

Beat the egg and milk together in a small bowl. In a separate bowl combine bread crumbs and spices.

Dip chicken one piece at a time into the egg mixture and then coat thoroughly with the breading. Place in a baking pan covered in parchment paper. Once they’re all coated, drizzle the melted butter evenly over them and place in a preheated oven at 400 F for 20-25 minutes.

The dipping sauce I used tasted so yummy with these and is super simple. Just mix together bbq sauce (Sweet Baby Ray’s if you know what you’re doing!) and yellow mustard with a 2:1 ratio (example: 2 TBS bbq sauce to 1 TBS mustard). Make up as big or as small of a batch as you’d like. MMMMM!

Now, these tasty looking spuds are from a food network recipe Shirlee pointed me too.

Goat Cheese Mashed Potatoes with Beef Coffee Gravy. Recipe by Sandra Lee

While I enjoyed the potatoes, I don’t understand the need for evaporated milk and will most likely use whole milk if making again. I also didn’t care much for the gravy, but that’s probably my fault because I only had a vegan beef bouillon instead of real beef broth. Shirlee had made the original recipe before though and RAVED about it, so give it a try.

