I decided I had to have some sort of muffin for breakfast yesterday. I was nearly out of oil, milk, sugar, and flour, but had just enough to throw these together.

The ingredients are basic and simple, but these have to be the most wonderfully delicious berry muffins I have ever tasted.

Blackberry & Brown Sugar Muffins

Ingredients:
(makes about 8 muffins)

1 1/2 C flour
1/2 cup white sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg
1/3 C safflower oil (or any veg. oil, but this is my favorite)
1/2 C cup milk
1 C blackberries, frozen or fresh (or another berry you like)
1/4 C brown sugar to sprinkle on top

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F and combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a medium size bowl. Add in egg, oil, and milk and mix thoroughly, then fold in the berries (turned my batter totally purple!).

Grease a muffin pan and fill each cup to the top with batter, then add a generous sprinkle of brown sugar on top. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes.

Blackberry & Brown Sugar Muffins

(I did not bake this one with berry eyes on purpose, but this had to be done:)

Blackberry & Brown Sugar Muffins

