EDIT: added five more photos 5/14 6:30pm

***Pssst! This is cross-posted to my brand new blog http://mills50district.blogspot.com, dedicated to reviewing local shops in the Orlando Mills 50 District***

A few months ago I noticed a new little business on the side of the road near my apartment. Outside I saw flags were waving, a banner was hung, and angels singing (well, maybe not), all proclaiming the brand new Seven Sisters Coffee House.

I was intrigued.

Of course, it’s taken me until yesterday to finally stop in with my mom to try their coffee out.

Here are some excerpts from their website that are part of the reason I knew I had to go:

Seven Sisters Coffee provides coffee from sustainable, organic, fairly traded , and relationship coffee farms. Our house coffee comes from Selva Negra Coffee Estate in Matagalpa, Nicaragua. Selva Negra is a fully sustainable estate, from coffee production to the estate workers facilities.

Our mission is to offer the best tasting quality organic, specialty coffee that exceeds sustainability standards, to greet everyone with a friendly smile and to share our global vision in a community-friendly environment.

So far, I really like this place. It seems to totally lack the pretension that saturates other local coffee houses I used to visit (notice the past tense. Who wants a cup o’ joe with a side of snobbery?).

There was a laid back vibe when I walked in and I love that it’s converted from an old home, so there are little rooms here and there to explore.

On the counter were these tempting beauties. I managed to resist…this time πŸ™‚

Behind the counter is the owner, Alisha, and her equally friendly daughter, Maya, learning the business. I have to admit, I’m a little jealous. I have always thought it’d be awesome to have a coffee shop or small bakery with my mom. It’s nice to see someone living the daydream πŸ™‚

In one of the corners is a super bright and sunny room for kids to play in, which, once I’m a parent, I’m sure I’ll appreciate even more.

There’s a large window in one wall between the play room and a sitting area, plus seating at the doorway to the playroom (in front of a HUGE window I’d love to steal for my own) so the parents can still keep an eye on their little ones.

And sprinkled throughout the rooms are some small displays of handmade goodies sold by several crafters and artists.

I plan on walking over this afternoon for another cup of coffee – which is awesome! I totally forgot to mention that I love it. It’s tasty, inexpensive, and instead of handing money over to a corporate owned Starbucks (which, sorry Jess, I don’t even like their coffee), I’m supporting a local business that actually has some ethics!

You know, if I make this place a habit I may have to consider purchasing one of the unlimited-coffee-for-a-month cards that’s only $25 πŸ™‚

P.S. Oddly enough, one of my favorite things in the whole shop: a hanging bucket of utensils. Don’t ask me why. I just love it.

P.P.S. There’s also a brad new chocolate shop in the building right behind Seven Sisters! I’ll have some photos from there later.

