This morning I still had some french bread leftover from baking last week and after checking facebook, I saw that my brother (who baked some yesterday) was using it to make french toast.

Brilliant! Mine was so dry and unappetizing after sitting on the counter for a week I had been contemplating trashing it – but no more!

While Matthew slept in before work, I made this:

French Toast Sticks!

Ingredients:

2 eggs
2/3 C milk
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cardamom
6 stale pieces of bread

Whisk together ingredients in a shallow pan then submerge each slice of bread for 10 seconds on both sides. Melt butter in a hot skillet and place slices in the pan. They should cook on low-medium heat for about 5 minutes on each side.

Once they were finished cooking I just used some kitchen scissors to cut each slice in half longways so they’re easy to pick up and dip in a bowl of syrup.

That’s it!

Recipes
Homemade French bread
French bread grilled cheese with caramelized onions and muenster

