I have been wanting this for ages. Yesterday seemed like the right time.

Pho Ga = Chicken Soup with bonuses!

For personal preference, I’ve left out the spices in the broth, but the add-ins are pretty much the same as you get in Vietnamese restaurants (and to me, this tasted as good, if not better, than Little Saigon’s Pho Ga)

Ingredients you’ll need:

2-3 TBS vegetable oil
1 chicken breast
4-5 cups of chicken broth
3 slices of ginger
2 cloves of garlic
cooked rice noodles

Fresh:
cilantro
basil
mint
bean sprouts
red onion
jalapeno

Start out by cutting a few slices of ginger (no need to peel) and two cloves of garlic.

Use a pestel or some other blunt object to lightly smash them (I had fun posing for this, as I had already smashed them up to avoid camera shake)

Pour 4-5 cups of chicken broth (or in my case, 5 cups of water and two heaping teaspoons of Better Than Bouillon Chicken Base) into a large saucepan. Add the garlic and ginger and simmer for 15 minutes.

Next, start heating a few tablespoons of vegetable oil in a skillet – preferably one that doesn’t look as dirty and rusty as mine (which is actually very clean, despite appearances).

While the pan heats up, trim the fat off of one chicken breast then cut it into very thin slices. Like, super thin slices. For reals.

Throw the chicken in the skillet and stir every minute or so. This cooks super super fast…probably about 5 minutes tops.

Ta-da! Cooked chicken. Set it aside and get your fixin’s ready.

Get out some cilantro, basil, mint, bean sprouts, red onion, and a few slices of jalapeno.

Note: Do NOT skimp on the fresh herbs! They are what MAKE this soup.

Now boil some water in a separate saucepan and cook up your desired amount of vermicelli noodles (which are, in my opinion, the best kind of noodle).

Using a spoon, fish out the pieces of garlic and ginger from the broth and discard.

Strain the cooked noodles and add to the bottom of your soup bowl, then ladle the broth on top.

(yes this is the only large bowl I have – an antique serving bowl I picked up at a garage sale a few years ago)

Put about half the chicken in the bowl (I think next time I’ll cut the slices in half for more bite-size pieces) and start adding in the basil, mint, cilantro, and jalapeno slices.

I ended up using a LOT more than pictured in the bowl here. I looooove cilantro.

Next up, bean sprouts and red onion

Stir it all together and you have one great big bowl of Pho Ga 🙂

