This was my breakfast this morning, and it was fantastic.

Jasmine tea, pork sausage links, and oatmeal with vanilla, cinnamon, raisins, and honey!

I’m usually not a big an of oatmeal, but in my quest to actually eat breakfast for a change, it’s turned out to be one of the few breakfasty foods that’s somewhat appealing (I don’t like syrup-soaked bready pancakes anymore, and you can only eat so many fried potatoes before your pants don’t fit).

So I present to you, oatmeal that actually tastes good.

Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal Dad’s Oatmeal Recipe!

Pull out the essentials to turn lame chalky oatmeal into honey-vanilla wonderfulness

Cook up your oatmeal according to the directions on the box (please don’t use instant. Really).

I know some people like it plain (weirdos), but what’s interesting about it?

See. Boring plain oatmeal.

Start making it edible by putting a few splashes of vanilla extract (look for one that DOESN’T have corn syrup or sugar in the ingredients….because they shouldn’t be in there) and a few dashes of cinnamon.

I love how the vanilla pools in the middle and looks all rich and yummy

Then sprinkle on a few raisins and mix it all together with a spoon.

Now my favorite part – drizzle on some honey! Drizzle drizzle away!

And there you have it. Edible (and actually really really tasty) oatmeal 🙂

