I can’t believe it’s the last day of 2008. I’m not sure if I’m excited or in denial.

I’ve spent the last day of this year painting, reading, and cooking. Not too shabby.

I had a major craving for summer rolls this morning so I made them for breakfast. In case anyone hasn’t made them before, I made a little tutorial of how I go about it. I was impatient, hungry, and unconcerned with making these photos pretty, so ignore the overexposed-ness of them.

Alright, so you need:

Fresh mint leaves
Fresh Thai basil leaves
Fresh cilantro leaves
1 carrot, cut into matchsticks
2 romaine leaves, shredded
1/2 cup cooked rice noodles
1/2 C cooked chicken, cut into thin pieces
summer roll wrappers

(this will make 4 summer rolls)

First get everything prepared and ready to go so you can put each roll together quickly. Have the veggies prepared, the noodles cooked, and a shallow pan of water for the wrapers. Soak one wrapper for 20-30 seconds until pliable and lay it on your counter.

Arrange three thai basil leaves (end-to-end) in the middle of the wrapper, then tear 2 mint leaves in half and lay them on top of the basil, and finally, lay a bit of cilantro on top of that. Place a few carrot sticks on top of it all.

It should look something like this:

Put a small handful of noodle on top of the carrot, then some lettuce, and at last a bit of cooked chicken (or whatever protein you want. Traditionally it’s pork and shrimp, but I’ve tried it with marinated baked tofu slices and tempeh would be awesome too)

Start to tightly roll the wrapper up, but not so much that it tears and the insides start falling out (relax though, you WILL tear a few and they taste just as good)

Fold the ends in and roll the last bit up

Ta-Da!

I make a simple peanut sauce dip out of

1/2 C hoisin sauce
2 TBS peanut butter
water to thin it to desired consistency

Heat in a small pan and mix thoroughly. I pop it in the freezer to cool off a little before eating.

Yummiiiiiiiiiiinees!

Tonight Matthew and I are having our own little party and spending the evening alone together. I’m planning on parmesan chicken, mashed potatoes, roasted asparagus, and a nice cold bottle of wine.

What are you doing for New Year’s?

P.S. We get to go to Epcot for free tomorrow!!! Pray I don’t get trampled by strollers.

