Since taking a break from vegetarianism, I’ve quickly learned that meat is expensive!

At first I was buying fresh chicken breast and would get 3 breasts anywhere from $5-$9. Then I discovered the ~*frozen meats*~.

They looked kinda weird, and you can’t see through the packaging to what the meat actually looks like inside, BUT when you get a bag of 5 skinless boneless breasts for $6.99, you tend not to complain.

Sometimes you may even see me in the store digging through the entire freezer trying to judge which bag feels the heaviest since on occasion I’ve struck the jackpot and gotten SIX breasts in one bag (FYI, Publix is selling those bags 2 for $10 this week!).

Anyway, one of my favorite dishes to make is the easiest thing in the world – Lemon Pepper chicken.

First I thaw out two chicken breasts in a bowl of water for about 30 minutes, then trim off all the ickity flimsity parts. In a small bowl mix together 2 TBS of lemon pepper seasoning and 1 TBS of garlic powder.

Dry off the chicken, rub each side with the seasonings, pour a little oil on each side and in the bottom of a glass baking dish, and bake for 25-35 minutes at 350 degrees. Done!

I usually shred my chicken by pulling it apart with a few forks. If you like it diced, go ahead, but that’ just not my style.

Now that you have your shredded lemon pepper chicken, the possibilities are endleeeeeesssssss.

But here are two of my favorites.

1. Allison’s recipe for Tuscan Chicken with beans. It has extra lemony garlicky goodness.

2. My very own “Nothing Fancy” salad. Which basically means whatever you throw in a bowl and top with chicken and a little Caesar dressing.

(this one was my lunch today: romaine, spinach, cucumbers, and carrots)
.

