Yesterday I drove out to Leesburg and took Joan along with me. There was an abandoned building falling apart so I pulled over on the side of the road to take pictures. The place was completely creepy. Shattered windows with molded curtains danicng around in the breeze. Piles of junk and beer cans throughout the house, with spiders, ants, bees and other creepy crawlies everywhere. The power to the house was cut off and the wires left hanging and frayed while part of the roof was caving in and all the shingles were blackened and curled as if there had been a fire, only no other damage from one could be seen. The front door was off it’s hinges but someone had put it up anyway and nailed a board across the entrance. I kept expecting to see a dead body somewhere.

After five or ten minutes I was finished taking photos and right as we were getting in the car a man chased us down on his lawn mower. He started shouting so I hopped into the car, hoping to leave without talking to him. Of course then he sped in front of me and parked his mower in the middle of the road so I couldn’t drive away. He wanted to know what I was doing, why I was taking pictures, etc, and after I answered he finally moved out of the way. It made me even more curious as to what was going with this house, because for as decrepit as it was, the grass in the yard was cut short, so I’m assuming the man on the mower owned the property and was taking care of it for some reason….mystery, mystery….

Anway, I don’t have any photos from the hosue yet, just a few from walking around near the lake at Camp Horizon.

Dylan the majestic: A tiny but regal little creature, in shades of green with wings made from sheets of gold that tiny little goldsmiths hammered and shaped just for him…anyway, that’s what I like to think.
Dylan the majestic

Sylvia the diligent: She must have been in the middle of building her home when I discovered her at the edge of the lake. She stayed completely still while I photographed her, but i have a feeling she got back to work as soon as I turned away.
Sylvia the dilgent

more later…

