Leonard was just a baby and only 2 1/2-3in from tip of the nose to end of his tail. He had a bit of an attitude and really wasn’t in the mood for modeling, but he finally succumbed to my nagging and allowed me to pose him on my knee (as in the above photo – no, my legs aren’t gray and fuzzy, only my pj pants are), on a red plastic toy, and on the leaf of a small potted plant.

Our photo session carried on for a good 10 minutes until I thought I would melt from the heat and I sensed Leonard getting antsy. I thanked him profusely for his cooperation, placed him amidst the mulch and greenery out back, and sent him on his merry way.

Later when going through the photos, the thing that struck me the most about him was his skin. I’ve caught many many lizards before, but I’ve never really studied their skin close up. It’s really just a bunch of little colored dots forming different patterns. I don’t know why I never realized it before, but it immediately reminded me of pointillism, and more specifically, George Seurat’s “Un dimanche après-midi à l’Île de la Grande Jatte”. You know, that painting in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off that they keep zooming into closer and closer until you can see each individual mark.

Anyway, it was just a little observation I found sort of fascinating and thought I’d share. Now…I should probably sleep.

