I just spent a fantastic 2 1/2 hours with a new friend who is an amazing artist. The evening consisted of sitting at a japanese table on the floor of his art studio and just talking and going through book after book on different painters, drawing anatomy, early 1900’s photography, lighting techniques for portraits, and just immersing ourselves in art. It was FABulous.

He’s a regular renaissance man and does everything from stone carving, to pencil portraits, to acrylic paintings, to weaving, to landscaping, and the list could go on and on. He got my number from a mutual friend and called me up today to see if I’d be interested in helping him set up a web site, show him how things work on ebay, and basically be “the project manager” of his getting his art online. I’ll be getting paid for it of course, either with cash, art supplies, lessons, or he even offered to build me an easel or stretchers for canvas. Or I might just take payments in the form the fantastic banana bread his wife makes….I’ll decide later….but it really was some damn good banana bread.

Oh, I’ll also be able to use his library of books, which will be heaven. I have to do some research on a few things then I go back over Monday. He mentioned that if I can help with with this project, maybe I can help with the next one, and then the one after that, and maybe even be an apprentice/assistant, but I don’t want to get ahead of myself and jump to any conclusions. Wow, there was so much more we talked about and that I’m excited about, but I almost don’t want to ruin it by writing it down. If it happens, I’ll write about it then. Should be lots of fun ahead though 🙂

