I am a book feind. I compulsively buy more and more when I know that I have no room left on both of my double-stacked bookshelves. So the other day I decided to weed through them and get rid of the ones I had already forgotton I even owned. Now those wouldn’t be too interesting to talk about but I thought I’d mention a few of my favorites I came across.

Mmmm. Yummy yummy books.

I picked this one up in my (now closed) favorite antique shop in Carrollton, KY EDIT – I’ve been informed that I actually bought them from a thrift store by my house. I just can’t keep these things straight). It’s one of two old school books I bought that a boy named Oliver Perry Medsger used to own (he had put a little owl sticker with his name on the front inside cover of each). It didn’t look like much on the outside but I found a little treasure as soon as I opened it.

The copyright date for this Zoology book is 1896. The photograph of the books owner sitting with the books author is dated 1930. Definitely my #1 find so far.

I bought this Grimms book from 1945 in the same Carrollton store (possibly at the same time, I can’t remember) and got it for two simple reasons. 1. I love fairly tales, and 2. The cover illustrations rocked.

Yes, I found this next one in the same shop. My first memory of really getting into a book emotionally was when I was about 8 years old and read the first story in the Elsie Dinsmore series by Martha Finley. I never read it again but it was really my launching pad into the world of books and I should really re-read it sometime. This copy is pretty shabby and the pages are falling apart but I giggled quite a bit when I found it a few years ago.

(For some reason I always thought this was a different book in the series than the one I had read but I just looked more closely and realized it is actually the same story. So yay for good suprises 🙂

I found out Andy Warhol illustrated for seven different “Best In Children’s Books” in 1957-1960 and have purchased 6 of them online so far. This is by far my favorite story he drew for.

four more photos of Warhols illustrations for “The Little Red Hen”

