As I’ve said before, I’ve never wanted a “babyish” nursery, but a stylish and somewhat neutral room that will be easy to transform as the baby grows up.

After much searching, I finally found the perfect inspiration photo a few weeks ago and have been returning to it frequently as we choose items for our nursery.


(Jennifer DeLonge’s nursery, photographed by Roger Davies)

I love everything about this room – the neutral background, pops of color, contrast of black and white, with an overall happy bright feel. I want to capture the essence of this photo and find a way to imitate a similar look in our house.

We’re beginning with a this bare room in our house (sorry for the lame angle, it’s from the realtor and the only empty-room photo of the nursery that I have):

To start, I’d love a white wool or light beige soft jute rug like one of these to cover and soften the grayish tile floor:

I doubt I can get my hands on any of that amazing geometric patterned fabric (David Hicks by Ashley Hicks, La Fiorentina – Ivory / Bark) that covers the chaise in my inspiration photo, so to get some black and white seating in the room, I would LOVE something like this zebra chair from Inged:

But for practicality (and price) reasons, I’m aiming for this inexpensive Dorel Glider Rocker Chair from Target ($99) and VILMIE FIGUR cushion cover from IKEA ($10).

Simple tie-back curtains from IKEA ($14.99)

And we already have a light wood crib (and green crib sheets) and a dresser/hutch similar to the one below (I need to find some pretty dresser drawer pulls though – we got it off craigslist and it has soccer, baseball, and basketball knobs right now)

So then all that’s left is decorating the walls. I have plenty of art supplies to make my own paintings, but I’d love to get a few more pieces from other artists on Etsy, such as the ones I posted about a few days ago, and these:


The film maker. Limited edition 8.5×11 print by Matte Stephens

Feathers by groundwork

Going, Going by Dazeychic

Green Acorn by redtolestudio

Once we figure out everything we’re going to do and have it all put together, I’ll be sure to post photos :)





And in totally separate news, I found this fabulous pink wig by MissvioletLace (left) that is making me miss my dyed pink hair from six years ago (right).

I’ve tinkered with the idea of going through bleaching and coloring my hair again, but it takes time, money, and chemicals, so a wig seems a very tempting next best choice :)

